About Us

The Elgin Youth Development Group was established in 1998 in response to concerns that young people did not have a place to meet and socialise.  We now run a youth café called The Warehouse and offer a full range of youth work related services and activities including open evenings, after school clubs, holiday clubs, cooking and fitness classes and employability opportunities.

Our aim is to guide and support young people to realise their full potential. We do this by providing:

  • projects and activities that address the needs of our young people and helps them develop their confidence, leadership skills and well being
  • opportunities that positively influence them to become valued and active members of the community

We also run a social enterprise called The Inkwell.  This initiative enables us to increase our sustainability by offering meeting rooms and a Community Kitchen for hire as well as catering services.  As importantly, it allows us to offer employability opportunities to young people who need additional support to transition into work.

Our Inkwell Community Kitchen is a modern and fully accessible training facility from which we run workshops to introduce young people to healthy eating, from cooking on a budget to international cuisine.  Additional classes are offered for parent and child sessions, cooking to boost mental health and bespoke sessions for those with additional support needs.

    Meet the Team

    Clair F.

    Chief Executive

    clair@elginyouthcafe.org

    Emma

    Marketing & Communications Officer

    emma@elginyouthcafe.org

    Kate

    Finance Officer

    kate@elginyouthcafe.org

    Penny

    INKWELL Manager

    penny@elginyouthcafe.org

    Claire H.

    Inkwell Coordinator

    claire.howie@elginyouthcafe.org

    Carol

    Youth Team Manager

    carol@elginyouthcafe.org

    Peter

    Youth Worker

    peter@elginyouthcafe.org

    Sarah

    Youth Worker

    sarah@elginyouthcafe.org

    Donna

    Health Promoting Youth Worker

    donna@elginyouthcafe.org